The Long Walk of Life, the Short Stroll of Death

Since the beginning of Man, (as well as time) life was plentiful to all no matter the cards some were dealt. Plentiful; a rare and probable walk through growth, wisdom, decisions, so on and so forth. Our ancestors were able to dictate evolutionary decisions that would direct ourselves to grow with these changes, allowing us to adapt in order to survive a while longer. Even through plagues, with the discovery of medical science crippling the sought after mystery of alchemy and natural remedies human beings were able to last a bit longer. Though that always seems to be our obstacle: living a little bit longer.

I remember when my Grandfather was in and out of the hospital for prostate issues, he had told me “Nick, ya know all this medical bullsh*t drives me nuts. If I’m gonna die tell me if not gimme what I need and lemme get out. If its time to go I’ll be upset of course, I’d like to live a little longer.” Then I recall all the countless lives that wanted to live a little longer. Those who had perhaps so much to live for and their life cut relatively short. What and odd fallacy pro lifers give out, some of us weren’t ever supposed to be born and some of us opt out easily. The sanctity of life, in my honest opinion, should be left to its host and their decision alone. 

Last Friday my best friend’s father, a longtime Musician, Historian, a terrific individual passed away after a year long maybe more battle with Brain Cancer. Cancer sucks. And I’m struck again confiding my recent tackling with understanding the Buddhist’s perspective of death and acceptance as well as my steadfast secular perspective. As an Atheist, I know he won’t exist in another life nor reign in Heaven, and thats not a selfish thought. Whats selfish is that this isn’t the only life and we have to look forward to a secondary chance. Although, the amateur astrophysicist in me yearns for a cosmic understanding. “No energy is destroyed in the Universe”, and thus this dear second father of mine’s energy is released into the stratosphere only to give leeway to a baby galaxy, or to enlighten a burned out star. What I deem necessary for humans to grasp, is the thought of no after life, however something much more grounded in the foundation of science and natural order: composting potential energy and releasing kinetic energy. He will be fine now, floating amongst the vast helium vacuum that once was our original home.

Life seems short when we near the very end, however it is actually rather long and the stroll with death is quite short. I’m told by neuroscientists that as our body cools down and the brain is left with 7-8 minutes of response, our life is played back to us. Or we enter a brain-activated lucid dream. In this dream our brain recalls our entire life the important aspects, the many decisions and the struggle that we happened to find the silver lining in.

Through external oppostions I’ve found it. Just be happy. Don’t exaggerate and don’t neglect. Just exist and allow others the chance to do the same despite opposing beliefs or pursuits of happiness. There is a strong tide that pulls us closer the Heart of the Ocean, and if its our time we, like a stern and noble captain, must go down with our vessel. And thats as secular as it gets. Do not fight death as some may have fought living. Just because we are sentient beings does not make us invincible. Have a moral mindset and follow it through. This is our only life, we are here to laugh, live, love, and long for, though we are also here to accept our greatest demise: death. A close friend at birth and struggle and even closer of a friend near the end. A long time friend who has been waiting to hold our hand through the empty wasteland of our collapsing self and one to be with us while our loved ones gather. He/she is kind no matter the crippling disease. Why? Being kind is what makes life an easy walk.
*Rest in Space, Les Fladd 1948-2015*

About What is it if it is it?

"All about the motion of the pollution in the ocean." I'm an animal like no other. I have a father sister brother and mother. Two feet to stand on but a head underground. Often dreaming skyhigh but never abound. Neither here nor there though fully aware. I seem to tend for others more so than my hair. Friendship comes first before anything that glows. Love can come swift or it can come in blows. I feel all there is but still don't see a light, I know I'm in this "tunnel" yet I somehow feel alright. Who I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment