Anything held near to someone should be self explanatorily excluded from being given a “title”

Whenever I sat down to write a poem or even a set of lyrics, a title is what drove me to the brink of tearing up my work. Indeed it is frustration in summing my expressions up in a few words or just one, though its also the fact of defining my ideas by granting it a pardon of genre-based. Titles to me, take away the whole feeling of free expression from formality. Even in this case, conformity.

The image I have set is Orion, a constellation mostly visible during Winter in the Northern Hemisphere, its “bow” of stars (for you uneducated humans the set of stars that are in a curve known as the Hunter’s Bow). Nonetheless, a vital constellation especially for nautical navigation and often heralded as a spectacle of good wishes. Mysticism aside, Orion was given this title as portrayed in Greek Mythology as a prominent hunter. The constellation alone represents incredible random designs organized by the cosmos, and even more miraculously involved Betelgeuse (the red top left star) is set to explode rather soon. That would be a sight to see. Getting on to the path I’m writing on, its interesting what we as human beings seperate from named to nameless when dealing with landmarks, significant events, or astral bodies. Though most titles offer a background premis to what the thing being recognized is, the value of its existence is known. Therefore its complexity is obsolete. I want to witness these titled things just to interact with what most leave behind. Theres always gonna be something there that wasn’t present before. Almost like revisiting a math problem: changes are to be made.

Once we define someone (talking on a human to human level now, someone quick alert the FCC) that person now has an unbeknownst reputation for that definition. People whom I deem not necessary to interact with for personal and growth reasons I see them as coexisting rivals however, not to hold them to an extreme form of regret, its simply a way for me to identify human beings I can trust and others not so much. If we can give something a name, we should keep it around for understanding and observing. I don’t mean to imply we all go out find our devilish ex’s and chain them up while day to day examining them. That’s something an uncivilized being would do, and in this day in age where reason is overcoming religious chains we need not return to primitive behavior. What we need is to allow fair existence and life to others who wish to partake no matter their self-identification or tin-foil-hat views. Theres quite the difference between co existing with intolerance and existing with compassion.

I speak a lot about compassion but sometimes my humanism escapes me, especially the days where humans mostly piss me off and I’m performing above par capabilities of humanity. To each their own, and to each title their own. Rather than slut shaming and seeing people as idiots, we should all gaze at the night sky and recall where our real home is. Lets recall the strife of Orion and countless others who give streaks of light across the darkness not for us to marvel but for us to see and understand.

About What is it if it is it?

"All about the motion of the pollution in the ocean." I'm an animal like no other. I have a father sister brother and mother. Two feet to stand on but a head underground. Often dreaming skyhigh but never abound. Neither here nor there though fully aware. I seem to tend for others more so than my hair. Friendship comes first before anything that glows. Love can come swift or it can come in blows. I feel all there is but still don't see a light, I know I'm in this "tunnel" yet I somehow feel alright. Who I am.
This entry was posted in Natural Thoughts, Self-discovery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment